

Meeting: Warminster Area Board

Place: Civic Centre, St Stephens Place, Trowbridge. BA14 8AH Please see text in red below for details of what to expect if attending this meeting in person. A link for the public to watch this meeting online is available <u>here.</u>

# Date: Tuesday 18 May 2021

Time: On the rising of Full Council, not before 11.00 am

Including the Parishes of Bishopstrow, Boyton, Brixton Deverill, Chapmanslade, Chitterne, Codford, Corsley, Heytesbury, Horningsham, Kingston Deverill, Knook, Longbridge Deverill, Maiden Bradley with Yarnfield, Norton Bavant, Sherrington, Stockton, Sutton Veny, Upton Lovell, Upton Scudamore, Warminster.

Please direct any enquiries on this Agenda to Ben Fielding Democratic Services, direct line 01225 718656 or email <u>Benjamin.fielding@wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

All the papers connected with this meeting are available on the Council's website at <u>www.wiltshire.gov.uk</u>

Press enquiries to Communications on direct lines (01225) 713114 / 713115.

### Covid-19 safety precautions for public attendees

To ensure COVID-19 public health guidance is adhered to, a capacity limit for public attendance at this meeting will be in place. Please contact the officer named on this agenda no later than 4pm on 14<sup>th</sup> May if you wish to attend this meeting.

To ensure safety at the meeting, all members of the public are expected to adhere to the following public health arrangements to ensure the safety of themselves and others:

- Do not attend if presenting symptoms of, or have recently tested positive for, COVID-19
- Wear a facemask at all times (unless due to medical exemption)
- Maintain social distancing
- Follow one-way systems, signage and instruction

Where is it is not possible for you to attend due to reaching the safe capacity limit at the venue, alternative arrangements will be made, which may include your question/statement being submitting in writing.

This meeting will also be live streamed for all members of the public to watch online.

## Wiltshire Councillors

Cllr Pip Ridout, Warminster West Cllr Tony Jackson, Warminster Broadway Cllr Andrew Davis, Warminster East Cllr Christopher Newbury, Warminster Copheap and Wylye Cllr Bill Parks, Warminster North & Rural

### **Recording and Broadcasting Information**

Wiltshire Council may record this meeting for live and/or subsequent broadcast. At the start of the meeting, the Chairman will confirm if all or part of the meeting is being recorded. The images and sound recordings may also be used for training purposes within the Council.

By submitting a statement or question for an online meeting you are consenting that you will be recorded presenting this, or this may be presented by an officer during the meeting, and will be available on the public record. The meeting may also be recorded by the press or members of the public.

Any person or organisation choosing to film, record or broadcast any meeting of the Council, its Cabinet or committees is responsible for any claims or other liability resulting from them so doing and by choosing to film, record or broadcast proceedings they accept that they are required to indemnify the Council, its members and officers in relation to any such claims or liabilities.

Details of the Council's Guidance on the Recording and Webcasting of Meetings is available on request. Our privacy policy can be found <u>here.</u>

### Parking

Limited visitor parking is available at the Civic Centre, alternatively there is multi-storey parking nearby

## 1. Apologies

To receive any apologies for the meeting.

## 2. Election of the Chairman (Pages 5 - 6)

To elect the Chairman of Warminster Area Board for the forthcoming year.

## 3. Election of the Vice-Chairman

To elect the Vice-Chairman of Warminster Area Board for the forthcoming year.

This page is intentionally left blank

#### Extract from Part 3 of the Constitution: Appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Area Boards

4.9 The chairman and vice-chairman of an area board will be appointed at the first meeting of an area board, which takes place after the annual meeting of the Council, by the unitary Members on each area board, except in an election year where after the first meeting of Full Council a special meeting of each area board will take place to appoint a chairman and a vice-chairman.

4.9.1 The Democratic Services representative will call for nominations for the position of chairman of the area board. A Member's nomination must be seconded to be valid. A Member shall not be nominated in his/her absence without their written consent.

4.9.2 In the event of only one valid nomination being received the person presiding will declare the nominated Member elected.

4.9.3 In the case of two valid nominations the Democratic Services representative will ask for a show of hands from those Members in favour of each Member and declare the candidate receiving the majority of votes of the Members present and voting, to be the winner.

4.9.4 In the case of an equality of votes for the two candidates, the Democratic Services representative shall draw lots to determine the winner of the election and then declare the result.

4.9.5 In the case of three or more valid nominations being made, the Democratic Services Representative will call for a show of hands for each of the candidates. The Democratic Services representative will then announce the candidate with the least number of votes and that candidate will be eliminated (in the case of a tie for the least number of votes, the Democratic Services representative shall draw lots to determine which candidate to be eliminated). A further vote shall be taken for the remaining candidates and after each vote the candidate with the least number of votes shall be eliminated until only two candidates remain and a final vote taken.

4.9.6 The newly elected Chairman of the Area Board shall then preside over the election of the Vice Chairman in the manner described above with the ability to use a casting vote in the event of an equality of votes.

4.9.7 With the exception of an election year, the chairman and vice-chairman of an area board shall remain in post until their successors are appointed.

This page is intentionally left blank